‘It is Sweeney’s Third String Quartet, from 2004, that has the word masterpiece stamped all over it. It is a monster of a piece lasting 36 minutes. It’s totally abstract, and some might think it discontinuous, with its apparently fractured progression, pounding rhythmic unisons that dissolve, seemingly isolated and unrelated musical events, wild dances, and melancholic intensity. With a little familiarity, the events begin to cohere, and what emerges is a kaleidoscopic piece of a rare conciseness and almost Beethovenian intensity’. – Michael Tumelty, The Herald, 2007


William Sweeney: Eòlas nan Ribheid [World Premiere]; John McLeod: The Gokstad Ship @ City Halls, Glasgow
Dec 9 @ 8:00 pm


David Fennessy

New Work (BBC commission, World Premiere)

William Sweeney

Eòlas nan Ribheid  (The Wisdom of the Reeds) concertino for clarinet and orchestra (BBC Commission, World Premiere)

Anna Clyne

Beltane (BBC Commission, World Premiere)

John McLeod

The Gokstad Ship

Oliver Knussen

Symphony No. 3(Scottish Premiere)


BBC Commissions for the BBC SSO of new works inspired by Scotland and its culture continues with a new work for clarinet and orchestra, a piece from Anna Clyne inspired by the Beltane Fire Festival and much more. Thomas Dausgaard conducts…

Tickets available from Monday 30 October 2017.

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Yann Ghiro (clarinet)

Thomas Dausgaard (conductor)